Guide for Our Return to Public Gatherings. Our COVID-19 Restrictions
Read more

Liturgical Year

The Catholic Church uses a universal liturgical calendar, but it makes adaptations to the region and culture. Thus the United States has some feasts that are more relevant to the USA but not celebrated everwhere else in the world.  Each region chooses the feasts that are particular to their region which are added to the universal calendar.

Liturgical Colors

The colors of vestments worn for Mass reflect the significance of the seasons and days. The reflect, joy, sorrow, sacrifice, repentance, mourning, death, life, resurrection, martyrdom. In some ways they mimic the reality of the seasons of life around us. 


The Order of the Liturgical Year


Advent marks the beginning of the liturgical calendar. It consists of the four Sundays leading up to Christmas.  Read more


In the Catholic Church, Christmas is more than one day – it is a season that begins on Christmas Eve (Dec. 24), continues through the Feast of the Epiphany and includes the Solemnity of Mary, the Mother of God . Christmastide concludes with the Feast of the Baptism of the Lord in January.


Lent begins on Ash Wednesday and continues until the Mass of the Lord’s Supper on Holy Thursday. Lent is a season of repentance and renewal in solidarity with those preparing for the Sacraments of Initiation to be received at Easter. Fasting, Abstinece, Almsgiving and Confession/Penance are key elements of this season. The forty days of Lent is reminiscent of Jesus’ forty days in the desert between his baptism and the beginning of his public ministry. Read more

Triduum (Last Three Days of Holy Week)

The Paschal Triduum is the most important three days in the liturgical year. Holy Thursday (which commemorates the Last Supper), Good Friday (which commemorates Jesus’ crucifixion and death on the cross), and Holy Saturday (where the Church pauses to commemorate the Lord’s burial). The Easter Vigil is celebrated on Holy Saturday night when new members of the faith receive the Sacraments of Initiation and are welcomed into the Church.


Alleluia – He is Risen! The Easter season celebrates Christ’s resurrection from the dead, his victory over death. Christ’s Ascension into heaven is celebrated on the 7th Sunday after Easter. Eastertide concludes at Pentecost, where Jesus sends the Holy Spirit upon the apostles to spread the Gospel to all nations.

Ordinary Time

The season of Ordinary Time explores Christ’s mission and message through the Gospels. This season includes Trinity Sunday (which celebrates God’s self revelation as a Trinity of Persons) and Corpus Christi (which celebrates the Body and Blood of Jesus in the Eucharist). Ordinary Time concludes with the Solemnity of Christ the King which brings the liturgical year to a close.

Solemnities, Feasts, Memorials
Sundays are automatically treated as solemnities. During the year, in addition to the Sunday worship, the Church also celebrates Solemnities, Feasts, and Memorials which may be on any day of the week. These occur during the year to commemorate special events or persons that are highly revered by the Catholic Church.

The Liturgical Calendar
It is wise to look ahead and put the important dates on your personal calendar. The current year and following year is available on the USCCB website.

Holy Days of Obligation
Catholics are obliged to attend Holy Mass on Sundays and special solemnities and feast days that sometimes occur between Monday and Saturday. Thus, these change as dates move from year to year.  The list of holy days of obligation for this year and some future years can be found on this website:  READ MORE




Online Giving

Online Giving

Secure and Convenient Donate now!